Iona Whishaw

Mystery author Iona Whishaw grew up in Canada, Arizona and Mexico. She has an MFA from UBC, and spent her working life in education. Her Lane Winslow mysteries have won her the 2021 Bony Blythe Light Mystery Award and she has been a finalist for the Duthie book prize and two Lefty Awards. Her book … Read more

Siila Watt-Cloutier

Siila Watt-Cloutier was born in Kuujjuaq, Nunavik, Northern Quebec, Canada. She is an environmental and human rights activist. From 1991 to 1995, she worked as a counsellor in the review process of the education system of Northern Quebec. This work led to the 1992 report on the educational system in Nunavik, Silaturnimut – The Pathway … Read more

Frank Tester (co-authored with Krista Ulujuk Zawadski)

Frank Tester

Frank Tester is a resident of Denman Island, a Canadian author, film maker and professor of social work and environmental studies. He is currently adjunct professor of Indigenous Studies, University of Manitoba and the Kutenai Art Therapy Institute, Nelson B.C., having previously taught at the University of British Columbia, York University, the University of Edinburgh … Read more

Angela Sterritt

Angela Sterritt is an award-winning investigative journalist and national bestselling author from the Wilp Wiik’aax (we-GAK) of the Gitanmaax (GIT-in-max) community within the Gitxsan (GICK-san) Nation on her dad’s side and from Bell Island Newfoundland on her maternal side. Sterritt worked as a television, radio, and digital journalist at CBC for more than a decade. … Read more

Des Kennedy

Des Kennedy

Des Kennedy has been writing and homesteading on Inner (Denman) Island for the last 50-plus years. Living a conserver lifestyle, he and his partner Sandy have created gardens that provide food and beauty throughout the year and inspire much of his writing. His published works include five novels, five books of non-fiction and a memoir … Read more

Will Ferguson

Will Ferguson is a three-time winner of the Leacock Medal for Humour. His novels include his debut, HappinessTM, sold in twenty-three languages; 419, which won the Scotiabank Giller Prize; and The Finder, which won the 2021 Arthur Ellis Award for Crime Fiction. With his brother, Ian, he is the author of the mega-bestseller How to … Read more

Ian Ferguson

Ian Ferguson

Ian Ferguson won the Stephen Leacock Medal for Humour for Village of the Small Houses and is the co-author, with his brother, Will, of How to Be a Canadian, which was shortlisted for the Leacock Medal and won the CBA Libris Award for non-fiction. His latest book I Only Read Murder which he will be reading … Read more

Sarah Cox

Sarah Cox is an award-winning author and journalist based in Victoria, B.C. Sarah’s new book, Signs of Life: Field Notes from the Frontlines of Extinction, will be published on April 16, 2024. Her previous  book Breaching the Peace: The Site C Dam and a Valley’s Stand Against Big Hydro won a B.C. Book Prize and was a … Read more

Kevin Chong

Kevin Chong

Kevin Chong, award-winning author of seven books of fiction and non-fiction, lives in Vancouver and teaches creative writing at UBC.  His most recent novel, The Double Life of Benson Yu, was on the shortlist for the 2023 Scotiabank Giller Prize.  His previous works include The Plague, written presciently pre-covid in 2018; Northern Dancer (2014), My … Read more

David Bergen

David Bergen has published thirteen works of fiction. He has been nominated for the Governor General’s Literary Award, the Impac Dublin Literary Award, and a Pushcart Prize. In 2005 Bergen won the Giller Prize for his novel The Time in Between. In 2018 Bergen was given the Writer’s Trust Matt Cohen Award: In Celebration of a Writing … Read more